Hospital week 1

I have decided to write a weekly blog for my hospital practicum…due to my super busy schedule…it’s nearly impossible to write it daily…!!

So, I have successfully completed the week 1. I have worked at the dispensary all week. Any comments?….it was GREAT. 

Here are the routine of working at the dispensary. I have mentioned about it in my previous blog but this one is more detailed:

 

1. Go get returned Meds from all the wards./ collect empty med casettes

2. Go get used opioids kits from OR. 

3. Check night cupboards to see if any meds have been taken 

4. Fill 10am orders

5. Tech check if it’s refill meds, or otherwise, ask pharmacist to check 

6. whoever working at the dispensary is responsible of dealing with out/in patients, nurses or whoever comes to the counter 

7. tube up meds to wards if not many 

8. deliver the 10am orders to different wards

9. fill refill orders, opioid kits, stat boxes and hypoglycemia kits (if applicable)

10. fill orders as they come  in and deliver every two hours.

11. order entry on the computer (transcribing Rxs)

 

I feel like I have learned and was capable of doing almost everything at the end of this week. I feel really good about going into this week! I will be working at the LTC (long term care) station where I will be operating Pac Meds and all that exciting stuff!! 🙂 

This week…my schedule is from 9:30am to 6pm….It’s going to be a long week….! But I am just going to have fun and learn as much as I can!!! 

 

Have a great week everyone!! 

 

 

Leave a comment