Hospital Practicum – Finished…!

The last week at the hospital pharmacy, I was in sterile/chemo prep. Because of the long weekend, they were extra busy mixing drugs. at this particular hospital where I was at, they only have one Tech working each day so it can be quite hectic for that person. 

For example, on Tuesday, we had 25 chemo drugs to mix and on top of that, there were two TPNs and 3 or 4 sterile drugs. it’s a lot for one person to do throughout the day. It can be tricky because all those drugs has to be mixed at certain time too…

Because they were so busy, I basically pretty much watched for the first couple of days and on day 3 and 4, I had some opportunities to actually get hands on experience.

At Insignia College where I took my Pharmacy Tech. Program, we had lots of opportunities to practice with needles and syringes, and at the end of the program, i was feeling quite good about my techniques. It’s shocking rather than surprising how QUICKLY we lose things if we don’t use it all the time. When I had a chance to do TPNs for the very first time at the hospital, I felt very awkward manipulating syringes and I was very disappointed how poorly I performed….but at the same time, it was also amazing how fast things started to  coming back to me as I did more and more of it….so then I was a bit relieved…phew…! 😉

My 4 weeks of practicum has finally came to an end…I had an amazing time from beginning to the end….worked with the most kindest, intelligent people and I feel that I have grown tremendously….I am very thankful that I was given this wonderful opportunity and I am so ready to actually work and start making lots of $$$. 😉 I will miss everyone at the hospital, but I am sure I will see them again in the future…!! 

I keep thinking lately….I am such a lucky girl….I have only met the nicest people throughout my practicums and for that, I would like to say BIG THANK YOU to everyone who helped me through along the way. This has been a long road and wouldn’t have been the same experience without any of you….This includes people at Insignia College(including my awesome classmates), Rexall on Yates, Cook and Johnson st., Rexall Long Term Care, and everyone at CDH.

I LOVE YOU ALL and I wish you all the very best in your lives. If you have any questions regarding my experience, please feel free to write me anytime! 

 

— Lena Imada

 

 

 

Leave a comment